While most of my posts on this blog revolve around my Master’s coursework, I also want to document my steps toward the classroom of the future. One recent development is a move to a completely digital classroom. My school has Google Drive and most Google programs activated for students, so since January I have put more and more of my lessons, resources, and even assessments on Google.

Right now my students are working in groups on a month-long inquiry project. Each group has one collaborative Google Doc they are customizing to keep track of their research. Every day I am impressed with how they are repurposing this simple tool to fit their needs. Take a look at the slideshow below to see the development:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

While none of the individual steps they are taking are revolutionary, what is fascinating to me is how organic the process has been. As my students learn more about how to customize their working space, they are building more functionalities into the doc. The way that this has unfolded reminds me a lot of the steps necessary for learning as described by James Paul Gee in “Humans Learn From Experience”, particularly item 6, “After acting for a while, the newcomer gets to discuss his or her plans, strategies, and actions with others, new and old, to compare and contrast, to reflect and make new plans and strategies.” (Gee, 2013, p.5).

I’m so excited because I have no idea what is coming next. I think that’s a good thing!

