Tags

, , , , ,

Over halfway through the Networked Learning Project, and three out of six pies baked. What has been tricky about this tasty task?

The biggest change that I noticed while making my last pie was that I was on autopilot for parts of it. I didn’t need to check and reread every step of the directions along the way. In fact, I almost put the pie dough into the plate before peeling and cutting the apples! I am developing what Bransford et al refer to on page 44 as “fluent retrieval”, a clear sign of learning that should lead to “more capacity to attend to other aspects of the task” (Bransford et al, 2000).

But as I look at these other features of the task I am realizing that there are far too many variables for me to master in five weeks. While an apple pie is a relatively simple pastry recipe there are still hundreds of slightly different ways to make one!

One way of moving forward is to get feedback on my pies. So far that has been limited to the people who eat my pies. Here’s the feedback from my wife’s students:

Post It FeedbackHow do I get better feedback? I’ve made an attempt to systematically reflect on my apple pies with my reflective google doc, but is that enough? How can I get an expert to review my work?

Reviewing the Gee reading has helped me decide on my next step. In his 14 points outlining a “well-designed experience for newcomers”, steps four and five seem to be the ones that I am currently stuck on. I don’t know what to pay attention to and what to ignore, and I am not getting much feedback. Step six points the way forward: “the newcomer gets to discuss his or her plans, strategies, and actions with others” (Gee, 2013, p. 4).

So I’ve decided to become more active online. It’s not that I’ve exhausted YouTube or forums, but I need feedback tailored to my situation. Here’s my first post on ChefTalk, we’ll see if I get any help!

For this week I’ve decided to forgo the vlog entry. The main strategy I was going to use to improve my video was a camera on a tripod, and I left that at work! Next time.

References

Bransford, J., Brown, A., & Cocking, R. (Eds.). (2000). How People Learn: Brain, Mind, Experience, and School. Washington, D.C.: National Academy Press. Retrieved from http://www.nap.edu/openbook.php?isbn=0309070368

Gee, J. P. (2013, January 22). Humans learn from experience [Scholarly project]. InJames Paul Gee. Retrieved November 4, 2013, from http://www.jamespaulgee.com/sites/default/files/pub/Humans%20learn%20from%20experience.pdf

