Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

My Networked Learning Project has been extremely satisfying. I’ve made two pies and identified YouTube and Forum experts. I want to bake another pie to see how I can improve on the last one!

Research Review

Piecrust, by Howdini

Tyler Osborne

This quote seems to support the premise of our project, doesn’t it? Why pay for culinary training when you can find it on YouTube! However even though Tyler Osborne thought this video was great, it was too technical for me. As a beginner without strong kitchen skills, I became frustrated when I tried to replicate the techniques demonstrated by Chef Scott Cutaneo.

Apple Pie Recipe Demonstration, by Joy of Baking

Screen Shot 2013-11-18 at 10.06.17 AM

While Scott Cutaneo demonstrates the right techniques, Stephanie Jaworski explains them. She actively responds to user comments, getting back to me within 24 hours. She also spends a lot of time in her video explaining the reasoning behind each step. The length of the videos highlights this: hers was almost three times as long as Cutaneo’s! Her resources will help me “develop a sensitivity to patterns of meaningful information” that is a key step on the journey to expertise (Bransford et al 33).

Pie Crust Shrinking, posted by Crossmr on ChefTalk

CHefTalk

ChefTalk is another excellent resource. Not only was I able to find a post by someone in an eerily similar situation (an expatriate in South Korea who wants to replicate his mother’s pie), I realized that this vibrant online community of experts and novices is an example of the “affinity spaces” that Gee discusses (8). In the screencap, I have circled the ChefTalk All-Star badge earned by Siduri, signifiying that he/she is recognized as an expert on ChefTalk. I have also circled a quote from Siduri which seems to show that he/she is aware that just because you’re an expert doesn’t mean you can teach well (Bransford et al, 44-45). I should send that to my mom who seemed to think that my project was too easy!

More Details About Pie!

Self Assessment Chart Nov 18

The picture above links to a chart on my progress, and if you want to view my research notes click here. In the video below I go into more depth about the quality of my first two pies and highlight the specific ways I will improve my next pie. I also yell at my cat for jumping up on the kitchen counter (2:00 mark). Exciting!

See you next week! Make me a pie!

References

Bransford, J., Brown, A., & Cocking, R. (Eds.). (2000). How People Learn: Brain, Mind, Experience, and School. Washington, D.C.: National Academy Press. Retrieved from http://www.nap.edu/openbook.php?isbn=0309070368

Cutaneo, S. (2008, December 12). How to make pie crust. YouTube. Retrieved November 18, 2013, from http://youtu.be/bjQ0GSSVymU

Gee, J. P. (2013, January 22). Humans learn from experience [Scholarly project]. InJames Paul Gee. Retrieved November 4, 2013, from http://www.jamespaulgee.com/sites/default/files/pub/Humans%20learn%20from%20experience.pdf

Jaworski, S. (2013, November). Apple pie recipe demonstration [Online posting]. Retrieved November 18, 2013, from http://youtu.be/eazZvfyhYK0

Jaworski, S. (2011, April 01). Apple pie recipe demonstration. YouTube. Retrieved November 18, 2013, from http://youtu.be/eazZvfyhYK0

Osborne, T. (2013, September). How to make pie crust [Online posting]. Retrieved November 18, 2013, from http://youtu.be/bjQ0GSSVymU

Siduri. (2012, March 31). Pie crust shrinking [Online posting]. Retrieved November 18, 2013, from http://www.cheftalk.com/t/69872/pie-crust-shrinking

